Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah on Sunday announced party’s committees before the Lok Sabha elections 2019. While Union Home Minister will lead the manifesto committee, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has been made the in charge of publicity for the elections. The BJP formed 17 groups in preparation for the elections.Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shiraj Singh Chouhan are the other members of the committee tasked with preparing the party’s manifesto, a statement said. Jaitley will also be a member of this committee.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari will head a committee which will reach out to social and volunteer organisations, while his Cabinet colleague Sushma Swaraj will head a group that will produce literature for the polls, it added. Prasad will head the party’s media group while Union minister Prakash Javadekar will lead the wing which will organise meetings of intellectuals.

The Lok Sabha elections are expected to be held in April-May with the BJP under Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeking a re-election.

(With PTI inputs)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here